speeding ticket

Arkansas

The driver point system is designed to control bad, and dangerous, driving behavior. When you have an accident or a traffic violation, you are penalized by the Office of Driver Services’ Driver Control Section. They place and track the points on your driving record.

Traffic Violations

You can assume that any safety related traffic violation will work against you in the points system. The amount of points per violation depends on the level of severity―fewer points for a seat belt violation and many more for evading arrest.

For a complete list of traffic violations you’ll want to read through the vehicle code. Study the rules of the road as explained in your driver handbook. Common sense will steer you in the right direction to avoid traffic violations:

  • Drinking and Driving
  • Following Too Closely
  • Speeding
  • Excessive Speeding >15 mph
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident
  • Wrong Way on a One Way

Reckless Driving Penalties in Arkansas:

Offense/Violation

Classification

Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless driving

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of at least 5 days, but not more than 90 days, with fines of at least $25, but not to exceed $500

8

Possible automatic license suspension, per court’s discretion, then discretion of ODS
Reckless driving, causing physical injury

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of 30 to 90 days, with fines between $100 and $1,000

8

Probable automatic license suspension, per court’s discretion, then discretion of ODS
Reckless driving, subsequent offense within three years

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of at least 30 days, but not more than 6 months, with fines between $500 and $1,000

8

Probable automatic license suspension, per court’s discretion, then discretion of ODS probable
Reckless driving, causing physical injury, subsequent offense within three years

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of at least 60 days, but not more than one year, with fines betwee $500 and $1,000

8

Probable automatic license suspension, per court’s discretion, then discretion of ODS

 

Reinstatement Process

Before your license is suspended you can request a hearing and plea your case. There are hearing officers ready to work with you because the Office of Driver Services (ODS) wants the system to be fair.

To be reinstated, you’ll need to fulfill all the requirements of your suspension. That can mean driver improvement courses or if your suspension is for driving under the influence you may have to complete an approved rehabilitation program. When you are ready, contact the Driver Control Section to begin the process.

The reinstatement fee can be as much as $150; add to that the cost of rehabilitation or driver improvement and you will spend a lot of money earning back your license. Finally, there will be insurance premium rate hikes and even loss of income if you couldn’t get to work without driving (at your hearing be sure to ask about work permits).

Driving safe and being responsible is smart. You can avoid traffic violations by paying attention, driving defensively, and staying distraction free. Avoid alcohol when driving and get plenty of rest before a trip.

Source: http://www.dmv.org/ar-arkansas/point-system.php

Get Help Now
We will help you keep your License, Beat Points and Avoid Insurance Increases
Call 855-WIN1-NOW
or