speeding ticket

Iowa

Your driving record is monitored by the Iowa Department of Transportation’s Office of Driver Services in Des Moines. If you have too many accidents or traffic violations, the Office of Driver Services may choose to restrict your driving privileges.

If you frequently travel out of state or you’re a new Iowa resident, you need to remember that out-of-state convictions will apply to your Iowa driving record.

Understanding the DMV Point System

The Iowa DMV point system was developed to penalize drivers who have committed serious offenses, and to remove the most dangerous drivers from the road for the protection of others. Points are added to your driving record as follows:

Points

Violation

2

Making a false statement to the Department of Public Safety

2

Driving while your license has been suspended, denied, or revoked

3

Driving after your license has been revoked for an alcohol- or drug-related offense

4

Driving while barred

4

Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs

5

Committing an offense punishable as a felony under motor vehicle laws or involvement in any felony in which a motor vehicle was used

5

Leaving the scene or failing to offer help at an accident site

5

Eluding or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer

5

Causing serious injury with the operation of your vehicle

6

Manslaughter resulting from the operation of your vehicle

Based on the number of points you accumulate in a six-year period, your license will be barred for the following number of years:

  • 6 to 7 points: 2 years
  • 8 to 9 points: 3 years
  • 10 to 12 points: 4 years
  • 13 to 15 points: 5 years
  • 16 or more points: 6 years

Being barred as a habitual offender is very serious. If you are stopped while driving after your license has been barred, you may be imprisoned for up to two years.

Penalties for Moving Violations

Even if you haven’t earned points under Iowa’s point system, you can still be considered a habitual offender if you have six moving violations within a two-year period. Speeding tickets don’t count unless they are at least 15 miles over the legal limit. Tickets for seat belt, child restraint, or parking violations are also not considered moving violations. Once you’ve accumulated six moving violations, your license will be barred for one year.

Getting Your License Reinstated

After losing your driving privileges, you will need to pass the written exam, driving test, and vision screening again to receive a new Iowa driver’s license. You will also need to pay any appropriate fees and show proof of your financial responsibility, such as an SR-22.

Source: http://www.dnr.sc.gov/regs/pdf/pointsystem.pdf

Get Help Now
We will help you keep your License, Beat Points and Avoid Insurance Increases
Call 855-WIN1-NOW
or