speeding ticket

Kentucky

The System

Point systems are used to help monitor and correct drivers, identify habitual reckless or negligent drivers, and promote safety on the road. All drivers start out with zero points on their driving records and accumulate points according to the severity of any traffic violations of which they may be convicted.

Many insurance companies raise rates for drivers with excessive points on their driving records, and many employers require clean driving records for employment..

Point Values

Below is an outline of the Kentucky Point System. The court will send notices of these point accumulations to the Division of Driver Licensing (DDL). (Visit our DUI/DWI section for the more serious consequences of driving under the influence.)

Three-point Violations

  • Driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit on a limited-access highway
  • Driving 15 mph or less over the speed limit on any non-limited access highway
  • Driving 15 mph over speed limit in a commercial motor vehicle
  • Stop violations (electric signal, railroad crossing, stop sign)
  • Failing to yield, including failing to yield right-of-way to a funeral procession
  • Driving the wrong direction on a one-way street
  • Driving too fast/slow for conditions
  • Improper driving, starting, turning
  • Failing to illuminate/dim headlights
  • Driving carelessly
  • Improper lane usage, including improper left lane/limited-access highway usage
  • Failing to comply with instructional permit requirements/regulations
  • Any other hazardous moving violations
  • Driving recklessly
  • Following too closely
  • Driving on the wrong side of the road
  • Changing drivers in a moving vehicle
  • Not having control of the vehicle
  • Failing to yield to an emergency vehicle
  • Improper passing
  • Driving 16 to 25 mph over speed the limit on any road or highway
  • Commission of hazardous moving violation involving an accident
  • Combination of any two or more hazardous moving violations in any one continuous occurrence
  • Failing to stop for a school or church bus
  • Although the following violations carry no points, they are still considered and listed as serious offenses:

Four-point Violations

  • Driving recklessly
  • Following too closely
  • Driving on the wrong side of the road
  • Changing drivers in a moving vehicle
  • Not having control of the vehicle
  • Failing to yield to an emergency vehicle

Five-point Violations

  • Improper passing

Six-point Violations

  • Driving 16 to 25 mph over speed the limit on any road or highway
  • Commission of hazardous moving violation involving an accident
  • Combination of any two or more hazardous moving violations in any one continuous occurrence
  • Failing to stop for a school or church bus

Zero-point Violations

  • Driving 10 mph or less over speed limit on limited-access highway (you will pay a fine if convicted)
  • Out-of-state conviction of driving 15 mph or more over the speed limit in a commercial motor vehicle
  • The following violations can lead to an immediate hearing and possible 90-day suspension of your driving privileges:
    • Driving 26 mph over the speed limit on any road or highway
    • Attempting to elude a police officer
    • Racing

Hearings and Suspensions

The following violations can lead to an immediate hearing and possible 90-day suspension of your driving privileges:

  • Driving 26 mph over the speed limit on any road or highway
  • Attempting to elude a police officer
  • Racing

License Suspension

If you are under the age of 18 and accumulate four points or more within two years, you’ll be notified by the Transportation Cabinet of your point total and possible consequences if you reach seven points before your 18th birthday.

If you are over the age of 18 and accumulate six points or more within two years, you’ll be notified by the Transportation Cabinet of your point total and possible consequences if you reach 12 points within two years.

In the event that you do accumulate seven (as a minor) or 12 points (as an adult) within two years, the Transportation Cabinet will hold a hearing to assess your future driving privileges. Not attending your hearing will result in an immediate six-month suspension of your license for the first accumulation, one year upon the second accumulation, and two years for any further accumulation within two years.

If your driving privileges are suspended more than once, the suspension time will run consecutively.

If you do attend your hearing, you may be placed on probation and required to attend a traffic school instead of suspension.

In the event that you’re placed on probation, you will not be eligible for it again for two years after the end of the latest probation period.

For more information about about traffic tickets and traffic schools, visit our Traffic Tickets section.

Check the Status of Your License

Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report.

Source: http://www.onlinetrafficschoolguide.com/ky-kentucky/violation_points.html

Get Help Now
We will help you keep your License, Beat Points and Avoid Insurance Increases
Call 855-WIN1-NOW
or